The mining museums
The Cobalt Mines have a long, rich industrial history that began in 1773 and came to an end in 1893. At the Mining Yard, three buildings from its heyday have been restored and now form the Mining Museums.
The buildings’ names—Marketenteriet, Bergmesterstuen and Scheidehuset - bear witness to each one’s role during the 18th and 19th centuries. Rising from their original foundations, each has been carefully rebuilt based on old photographs and using era-appropriate materials.
Marketenteriet was the field kitchen, or canteen, where miners went to eat their meals. The centrally located Bergmesterstuen, with views in every direction, was home to the mine manager; from here, he kept his eye on everything that happened in the mining yard. The building is dedicated to an exhibit on Bergmester Karl Friedrich Böbert, who revolutionized mining operations during his tenure as manager from 1827 – 1840, and is perhaps the most important person in the history of the Cobalt Mines.
In 2022 we have made an axhibition about Ole Witloch, the man who discovered the cobalt ore in the area.
The Scheidehuset, or Sorting House, had two functions: The ground floor was reserved for the skeide process, which was the hand-sorting of cobalt-rich ore and rejected waste. On the second floor, there was an evening school for the boys who worked as sorters during the day.
The museums combined tell a fascinating story about mining and the people associated with it, including local geology and social conditions.
The mining museums have free admission..